The PAC-12 Academic Leadership Coalition was launched in 2011 by the University of Colorado at Boulder as a way for shared governance leaders at PAC-12 universities to collaborate. Shared governance leaders and staff from the PAC-12 universities have met on an annual to biannual basis, to discuss challenges and best practices related to not only shared governance, but also faculty-student issues, academic freedom, campus climate, and myriad other issues facing higher education.

On March 28, 2015, faculty governance leaders from nine of the PAC-12 conference institutions met at Washington State University to formalize the existence of the PAC- 12 Academic Leadership Coalition (PAC-12 ALC). The formation of the PAC-12 ALC creates both a collaborative organization and a professional network via the faculty governance leaders and the associated staff at each of the member institutions.

Through collaboration, innovation and the exchange of information, the PAC-12 ALC members hope to both enhance the shared governance processes on their own campuses and be innovation leaders in the pursuit of future academic collaborations.  Similar organizations preceding the PAC-12 ALC are the robust Big Ten Academic Alliance (formerly the Committee on Institutional Cooperation), which represents 14 research institutions in the Northeast and Midwest, and the SECU, which is a similar academic coalition located within the Southeastern Conference.

The PAC-12 ALC is the first organization of its kind west of the Mississippi, and the only organization currently developed through faculty initiative. The members of the PAC-12 ALC are motivated to not only work with one another, but also with the Presidents and Provosts at each of the member institutions.  As voted on by all members, the organizational mission is as follows:


The mission of the PAC-12 Academic Leadership Coalition is to improve the effectiveness and responsiveness of each member school’s shared governance organization; and where commonalities occur, to facilitate academic and research cooperation that is jointly beneficial to participating institutions.

Founding Members

Arizona State University
Oregon State University
University of Arizona
University of Colorado-Boulder
University of Oregon
University of Southern California
University of Utah
University of Washington
Washington State University